The Race

My thoughts run wild with fears of crossing the finish line

The race is typically to the swift, but this time I will take my time

Savour all the  sweet bitter emotions that fuel me stride by stride

I recall past victories and losses each with their own lessons

Making me more complete, making me a better athlete

So as I push on, my heart throbbing, I realise that this race can’t be lost

For even in defeat, I know the pain won’t last and the joy from the memories of taking part

Will forever brighten up my mind in preparation for my final victory, after which a new race will start.

Leave a Reply

